Dragon Scales, New Clothes, and a New Year’s Prayer

I’m watching the Passion Conference on the internet this morning.  The speaker, Louie Giglio, spoke these words, “Lord, eliminate in me the desire for anything which ultimately does not matter.”  These are not easy words.  They are not flippant words.  They are words which cut deep and shine a bright light in dark corners of my heart.  They are words, which if I am courageous enough to pray them, bring incredible hope for the coming year.  They put me in mind of the following passage from The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis:

 “The water was as clear as anything and I thought if I could get in there and bathe it would ease the pain in my leg. but the lion told me I must undress first. Mind you, I dont know if he said any words out loud or not.

I was just going to say that I couldn’t undress because I hadn’t any clothes on when I suddenly thought that dragons are snaky sort of things and snakes can cast their skins. Oh, of course, thought I, that’s what the lion means. So I started scratching myself and my scales began coming off all over the place. And then I scratched a little deeper and , instead of just scales coming off here and there, my whole skin started peeling off beautifully, like it does after an illness, or as if I was a banana. In a minute or two I just stepped out of it. I could see it lying there beside me, looking rather nasty. It was a most lovely feeling. So I started to go down into the well for my bathe.

“But just as I was going to put my feet into the water I looked down and saw that they were all hard and rough and wrinkled and scaly just as they had been before. Oh, that’s all right, said I, it only means I had another smaller suit on underneath the first one, and I’ll have to get out of it too. So I scratched and tore again and this underskin peeled off beautifully and out I stepped and left it lying beside the other one and went down to the well for my bathe.

“Well, exactly the same thing happened again. And I thought to myself, oh dear, how ever many skins have I got to take off? For I was longing to bathe my leg. So I scratched away for the third time and got off a third skin, just like the two others, and stepped out of it. But as soon as I looked at myself in the water I knew it had been no good.

“The the lion said – but I don’t know if it spoke – ‘You will have to let me undress you.’ I was afraid of his claws, I can tell you, but I was pretty nearly desperate now. So I just lay flat down on my back to let him do it.

“The very first tear he made was so deep that I thought it had gone right into my heart. And when he began pulling the skin off, it hurt worse than anything I’ve ever felt. The only thing that made me able to bear it was just the pleasure of feeling the stuff peel off. You know – if you’ve ever picked the scab of a sore place. It hurts like billy-oh but it is such fun to see it coming away.

“Well, he peeled the beastly stuff right off – just as I thought I’d done it myself the other three times, only they hadn’t hurt – and there it was lying on the grass: only ever so much thicker, and darker, and more knobbly-looking than the others had been. And there was I as smooth and soft as a peeled switch and smaller than I had been. Then he caught hold of me – I didn’t like that much for I was very tender underneath now that I’d no skin on – and threw me into the water. It smarted like anything but only for a moment. After that it became perfectly delicious and as soon as I started swimming and splashing I found that all the pain had gone from my arm…

“After a bit the lion took me out and dressed me – (with his paws?) – Well, I don’t exactly remember that bit. But he did somehow or other: in new clothes…”

New clothes…New clothes…(He) dressed me in new clothes…

 “3 Now Joshua was standing before the angel, clothed with filthy garments. 4 And the angel said to those who were standing before him, “Remove the filthy garments from him.” And to him he said, “Behold, I have taken your iniquity away from you, and I will clothe you with pure vestments.” 5 And I said, “Let them put a clean turban on his head.” So they put a clean turban on his head and clothed him with garments. And the angel of the LORD was standing by. 6 And the angel of the LORD solemnly assured Joshua, 7 “Thus says the LORD of hosts: If you will walk in my ways and keep my charge, then you shall rule my house and have charge of my courts, and I will give you the right of access among those who are standing here.”  (Zechariah 3:3-7 ESV)

1/3/11:  And this one the Lord drew my attention to this morning:

” I will greatly rejoice in the LORD; my soul shall exult in my God, for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation; he has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.”  (Isaiah 61:10)

 In many ways, 2010 has been a difficult year.  Like Eustace, I have had so many layers of scales that needed to be peeled away, and it leaves one feeling very raw.  I have come face to face with my utter smallness, my undeniable inadequacy, my absolute need for God in all things, but it is here that God proves Himself most faithful, most tender,  and meets me every time.

 “Lord, eliminate in me the desire for anything which ultimately does not matter.”

 And my mind is directed to another passage from the Bible:

 “in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice. Yes, and I will rejoice, 19 for I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, 20 as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. 21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. 22 If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. 23 I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. 24 But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account.”  (Phil. 1:18b-24)

 To live is Christ, to die is gain…My desire is to be with Christ, for that is far better…Oh yes, Lord Jesus, may 2011 be the year of Your return, for day by day that is what I increasingly long for.  If, however, You should tarry, please strengthen my arm to the task and let me be found faithful in whatever work You have for me to do and peel away the desire for anything which ultimately does not matter.

3 thoughts on “Dragon Scales, New Clothes, and a New Year’s Prayer

  1. Michelle,

    Thanks for an excellent post. Intriguing and insightful. Believe your posts could well be “kneaded” into a wonderful book that would bless many.

    Would like to post some of the thoughts onto the Generosity-alive site for others to appreciate.

    May you enjoy a wonderful New Year….

    Global Nomad.

  2. Thank you for your kind words. This humble blog is little more than my own personal journal of thoughts I don’t want to forget and a record of God’s faithfulness to our family for my children to read someday.

    If there is anything here that you feel would edify others, please feel free to link to it. May God alone receive all the glory, to Him alone it belongs!

Leave a Reply

