A couple of low-tech laundry tips

  Emma is going through a phase where she refuses to wear anything but a dress.  I’ve ebayed and garage saled looking for dresses cheap enough that I won’t hesitate about letting her play in the sandbox or help me in the garden while wearing them.  The one she is wearing in the picture above I bought new at Aldi’s for a couple of dollars and it’s been one of her favorites.

A couple of weeks ago, Emma wore this dress while running errands with her dad.  When she returned, she ran into the house crying because dad had “gotten it dirty”.  That turned out to be an understatement.  In fact, she had somehow managed to smear some very black, very oily engine grease across the front.  Remembering some advice from my grandmother on this subject, I got out some white Crisco (grandma used lard, but I don’t use it) and proceeded to work it into the stain.  Grandma says, “grease cuts grease”.  You can’t just smear it on, you’ve got to really work it into the stain with your nails, but after about 10 minutes of elbow grease (no pun intended), the stain was gone and after a cycle through the washer the Crisco was gone and the dress was as good as new.

This week when I took the dress out of the dirty clothes basket, I discovered that someone had piled wet towels on top of it (thanks, boys!) and with summer’s heat the dress was covered with mildew.  (Ugh!  The plague of summer laundry!)  Mavis was standing with me and she mentionned she had read or heard somewhere to use vinegar.  Now I’m getting to be a big fan of vinegar so I soaked the sweet little dress overnight and a good part of today while I was garage saling.  I have to admit, most of the stain is gone, there are just some faint spots left.  (If anyone has any other tips for getting mildew out of clothing, by all means, please let me know!)

One thought on “A couple of low-tech laundry tips

Leave a Reply

