It was a long day…

  My dh and I like to picnic with friends after church on Sundays.  It is very informal and fluid, as in “this is where we’ll be after church, if you feel like joining us and letting the kids run around, great!”  Sometimes it is just us and one other couple we are good friends with, sometimes there are other people, but always it is an enjoyable time.

Yesterday as we were leaving the park, we were a little chaotic.  John had made arrangements to give his mom a ride home, but we had taken the 7 passenger van instead of the 8 passenger van, hence we were one seat short.  There was a birthday party setting up in the shelter where we had eaten and I was thinking about what I had left to take to the van so we could clear out the place for them.  I picked up Sam in his carseat and headed towards the shelter.  I felt the weight of him heavy on my arm, carrying him close to my body to help alleviate the strain on my back, then suddenly he was weightless.  What had happened?  Had John taken him from me to help carry?  He had done that earlier that day in church…no, the carseat was still on my arm…then I saw him…on the ground…my precious baby who I did not realize was not fastened in his carseat had slipped out and fallen 3 feet to land flat on the back of his head on the cement sidewalk.

My world started spinning.  I was immediately transported back to a place of fear.  He is so young, he has his whole life ahead of him… I CAN’T GO THROUGH THIS AGAIN!

I asked my friend to pray for him.  I am ashamed to admit that I wasn’t in a place to pray.  I couldn’t give my other children the reassurance they needed.  I was simply consumed by fear.

John, sensing my need, or perhaps needing to be reassured himself, readily agreed to a trip to the immediated care clinic for some x-rays.  By the time we got there, Samuel looked good and was acting normally, but we just wanted to be sure.  The PA assessed him and everything looked great except one thing…becaue he is so young, there could be soft tissue damage and he wouldn’t necessarily demonstrate any of the normal symptoms we would look for, therefore they had to recommend we take him to the ER for a CT scan. 

By this time, I was fairly reassured that Sam was going to be o.k.  I knew going into this that we would most likely be wasting a day of my time and $1000 that we don’t have, and yet…it’s his BRAIN.  In a moment of clarity, I knew that if I could waste a day of my time and spend $1000 to heal Anna I would do it in a heartbeat , no less than a heartbeat.  I couldn’t put Sam at risk.  I don’t know whether John was thinking the same thing I was or whether he went along with this out of his great love for me, but it was never a question of whether or not we would , only which hospital we would utilize.

It was an incredibly long day.  If it was a long one for me in the hospital, I can only imagine how long it was for John taking care of the remaining children and his mother, but Sam got his CT scan eventually.  (It took me a long time to nurse him to sleep deeply enough that he would tolerate it, and even that was iffy.)  As expected, the report is just fine…and we are deeply grateful.

One thought on “It was a long day…

Leave a Reply

