God Sightings

I feel as though I have been in the presence of the Almighty today, watching Him at work.   The children and I were at our homeschool coop today for classes, when suddenly we heard the sound of loud, soul wrenching crying.  It was from a new mom who had just learned that a beloved brother had just passed away.  We gathered around her for support and to lift her in prayer.  The story she told us isn’t mine to tell, only know that she had abundance of reason to feel close to this brother.  As the peace which only God can bring began to settle over her, she revealed that after years of hard living, her brother had asked Jesus to be his Savior within the last couple of weeks.  Although we can never really be ready for any death, she found comfort knowing that her brother’s death was carefully watched over by the Lord himself. (Ps. 116:15)

Later that afternoon, I received a call from my sister informing me of a one-year-old baby who had just been taken to the hospital by ambulance with seizures, becoming unresponsive to the paramedics, then finally ceasing breathing altogether and asking me (and the other mothers there) to pray.  She called me back this evening to tell me that she had been to the hospital to see the parents and that the child was going to be just fine.  I don’t know how, but I know Who.  That is God at work.

As we left coop this afternoon, the weather had turned from rainy to snowy and the skies were very gray.  I looked, but saw no one coming so I pulled out on to the highway only to have a dark blue pickup truck (without his lights on) pull around me to the right (and almost going in the ditch himself) at road speed to avoid hitting us.  Even with all our seatbelts and carseats and airbags, that could have been a very ugly accident, yet God in His mercy protected us all.

I thought this was the end of my God sightings for the day, until I told my stories to John.  It turns out he was working on a tractor, trying to jump start it.  He was successful, but one of the men who works for us had left it in Reverse, so when the engine started, the tractor started backing up.  Not only did John have to get out of the way to avoid being run over, but he had 30 feet to somehow jump into the moving tractor and regain control before it crashed into our machine shed wall.  Farming is not for the faint of heart.  It can be a very dangerous business, yet God was with him as well and he was able to stop the tractor in time.

For more God sightings, please go here.  It is the EFCA’s website and effort to share how God is at work in ordinary lives every day.

5 thoughts on “God Sightings

  1. I LOVE God sightings. They are SO encouraging to my soul.

    Thank you for being willing to share them with us. They revive us and remind us that our purpose is so much greater than we understand.

    To Him be the Glory, great things He has done!

    Love,
    ~d

  2. Ladies,

    I cannot communicate deeply enough that God allowing me to witness Him in action yesterday is only evidence of unmerited grace on His part. I had blown it so very badly the day before that being a part of all this yesterday seemed like palpable forgiveness.

  3. Ah! I hope your sons enjoy my post…as much as a guy can anyway haha. Thank you so much for the comment, it’s always nice to hear from new people. Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply, I tend to forget to do that. “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” is one of my favorites, it’s a book I reccomend, or just give, to all my friends. Do your sons like it?

    Well thanks again for the encouraging words, I really do appreciate it.

    -Em

Leave a Reply

