Press On

I’ve been feeling rather tired lately.  It’s not surprising…physically my body craves rest as it is getting ready for the birth of our child.  Emotionally, I’m still very much a hormone soup.  Unfortunately, as I’ve become aware of the problem of complaining in our home, I can pretty much guess who the kids are modeling after (guilty!) and in times of “honest communication” with my dh, I’m none too pleased with what has been coming out of my mouth at times.  Something, no Someone has got to change and that change has got to start with me. 

As I was perusing some of my favorite blogs this afternoon, I came across the following at the Rebelution:

“It is a lot like the popular illustration in which a speaker will invite a member of the audience onto the stage, usually a guy who thinks he is Arnold Schwarzenegger, and ask him whether or not he can lift some small object, such as a canned food item. Once the participant confidently asserts his ability to do so the speaker requests that he hold the item straight out from his body and continue to do so until the speaker tells him to stop.

While the participant might initially feel confident he quickly begins to realize that it requires more and more effort with every passing second to keep the object in the air. The test of strength is not to ask him to lift some extraordinary amount of weight, but instead to hold a small amount of weight for an extended period of time.

This is the way it sometimes works with small things. As we are faithful in small things God will always ask more of us, but not always by giving us bigger things to do. Instead He might do so by asking us to remain faithful in the small things we are already doing.

As impressive as bigger (i.e. heavier) things may be, the greatest test of strength is to endure with whatever weight you’ve been given. God can be just as glorified by someone who endures to the end with five pounds than He can by someone who lifts 500 pounds once. That’s the kind of God we serve.”

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do:  Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which god has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  (Phil. 3:12-14, emphasis mine)

Thank you Father, with Your help I will press on.

2 thoughts on “Press On

  1. Krystal,

    Thank you for your kind words, but if you are blessed at all it is only evidence of God’s grace toward me and that “in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. ” (Ro. 8:28)

Leave a Reply

