Of Sparrows

sparrow.jpg  Can I just tell you sparrows are not my favorite bird? They are unattractive, they eat like pigs at my birdfeeder, they poo all over my van (whether it is in the garage or not), and there are soooo many of them that they constitute a genuine biohazard on our farm. Sparrows are the number one reason that John teases me that my attempts and feeding and watching the birds are nothing more than a glorified welfare system. They are in short, very, very common.

 cardinal.jpg  I much prefer the majestic cardinal.  He is not overly eager to show himself, but the brilliant red of his plumage makes each visit worth noticing.  Even Mrs. Cardinal, who is much less colorful, carries herself with a certain amount of dignity.  While the sparrows eat with wild abandon, spilling bird seed everywhere, the cardinal couple are much more careful and are just as content with an ear of corn leftover from harvest as they are with the sunflower seed I set out just for them.

blue-jay.jpg  I am also a fan of the blue jay.  He is less shy than the cardinals, but does not overstay his welcome.  His bright blue feathers brighten up the dull winter days and year after year I have found him to be a faithful visitor.  He is a little naughty, chasing the other birds away, but I find it easy to forgive him.

 yellow-finch.jpg  In the summer, we like to look for the yellow finch, splurging on the special thistle seed they favor (although I’ve found they also like the sunflower seed I set out).  The brilliant yellow contrasting with his black and white wings is quite remarkable.  Watching the finches eat has long been a favorite summer pasttime here on the farm.

sparrow2.jpg  “But who are you, O man, to talk back to God?  Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’  Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?”  Romans 9:20-21  “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny?  Yet not one of them falls to the ground apart from the will of your Father.  And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”  Matt. 10:29-31  “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not much more valuable than they?”  Matt. 6:26

Hmmm…..I guess when I think about it, I would much rather be a common, unremarkable sparrow resting in my Father’s hand than the most beautiful bird in the world.

3 thoughts on “Of Sparrows

  1. Those sparrows certainly are greedy little eaters at my feeder, too. I do think they are rather cute, though. Have you seen photos of the painted bunting that has been visiting our feeder in recent weeks? I have never seen such a beautiful bird in the wild. He is only slightly larger than the sparrow, a rather shy.

    Lovely thought, Michelle. As long as I am in the Father’s hands – nothing else matters.

  2. Yes, Patricia I have been looking with envy at those beautiful birds at your feeder. We don’t get anything that colorful this far north.

    I have spent so much of my life trying to be noticed like one of the beautiful birds, that there is something very satisfying about knowing that Father regards and values me even if I am common.

  3. In the interest of full disclosure, I should add that the pictures above are not ones I took. I enjoy taking pictures, but this is not the season of my life for going on photo-hunts. You are the one who is really talented at that Patricia. Your photos are always stunning!!

Leave a Reply

