‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

There were a couple of poems read at our recent homeschool coop Christmas program.  I thought I’d share them with you.

‘Twas the night before Christmas and all through the home,

Children were still studying for their test on Rome.

Mom was planning, she had just an hour,

To teach ‘one more lesson’ before their shower.

A whole week of vacation, the children were thrilled,

But Mom saw the lesson plans, and the blocks were still filled.

“Can I stop for a day, much less a whole week?”

Just the thought of time off, made me shudder and shriek!

Would they remember anything, would they fall behind?

“Lord I need your help, just give me a sign!!”

Then out on the sidewalk, I saw my four boys,

And I heard them say, “it’s not about toys.”

To the neighborhood kids, they explained Jesus’ birth

And how through Jesus, not toys, we gain our worth.

At that point, math and spelling and learning to write,

Meant little to me as I had lost the sight

Of what teaching at home was truly about.

Then I sat at my desk and began to pout.

The pouts turned to sobs,

“Lord what have I done?

It’s not about grades, but to follow your Son!

Please guide me and show me my job is to teach,

and turn them to you, and of Jesus I’ll preach.”

Now we’ll put away books and not open them ’til later,

We’ll focus on Jesus, our Lord and Creator.

It’s His dayand so we will all celebrate

I’ll never mention the words “behind” or “we’re late”.

So, Thank You Lord for blessing me

With such a great husband and family.

Now homescholing moms,

TURN OUT THE SCHOOL LIGHT!

And “Happy Christmas To All And To All A Good Night!”

 

 

2 thoughts on “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

  1. This poem, “Twas the Night Before (a Homeschooler’s) Christmas” was written by my mother, Christy Taulbee. Please give the proper copyright credit.

    Copyright 2002
    Author: Christy Taulbee

Leave a Reply

