Desires of a Christian Housewife

Well that got your attention, didn’t it? 

As our church is in a time of transition, searching for a new senior pastor, we have been blessed with a series of guest speakers on Sunday mornings.  We have cause to be thankful indeed for these men who give of their time and travel various distances just to minister to our church family.  This morning we heard from God through Pastor Rick Goertzen from Grace Bible Church in Hutchinston, KS.   (Hutchinston, KS?  It’s hard for me to fathom someone coming all that way just to minister to our congregation when he has his own flock to minister to at home.  We are so blessed, but I digress.)

His message was about walking in the Truth.  There were way too many good points for me to go over the whole sermon here, but here is a list of qualities of a man or woman who is walking in Truth…

7 Dominant Desires of a Spiritual Man or Woman

(taken from A.W. Tozer’s  Incredible Christian, p.113) 

1.  Desires to be holy rather than happy

2.  Desires to see the honor of God advanced through his/her life

3.  Desires to pick up his cross

4.  Desires to see everything from God’s point of view

5.  Desires to die right rather than to live wrong

6.  Desires to see others advance at his/her expense

7.  Desires to habitually make Eternity judgements instead of time judgements

I don’t know about you, but I see a couple of areas I need to work on.  Oh, and here is something that Pastor Rick said that really  gave me pause,You are either a connecting link or a separating wall between God and your children.”  Yikes!  I know what my desire is…but how am I working that out in the midst of the mundane, when siblings are bickering or children are dawdling?  Like the bird along the path who ate the good seed, I can see why Satan wants to steal the Word from our hearts.  Lives could be changed to God’s glory!!  

7 thoughts on “Desires of a Christian Housewife

  1. Um, wouldn’t it just be easier to torture us than to quote all that wonderful heavenly, holy instruments of flesh removal?!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Man, what a list. I think I will have to uh, copy that and stick it in my Bible. MAN. M.A.N.

  2. Pingback: Got too much flesh? « Java Dawn

  3. What would you like to see pics of, gentle friend? Didst thou receive the one I sent of the addition? My mind is absent of any others you were waiting for, but please remind me. My mind is absent of much these days and I will truly strive to produce said pictures for you.

Leave a comment