Suffering Disgrace

giftsgraphic.jpg 82.  Acts 5:41  “The apostles left the Sanhedrin, rejoicing because they had been counted worthy of suffering disgrace for the Name.”  This verse came across my attention this morning during our family Bible time.  I admit I am struggling with putting this one up here under something to be thankful for, because I have recently had occasion to “suffer disgrace for the Name”, or at least I think I have; and thankfulness is not the first emotion that has jumped to the forefront.  As we read through this verse, God’s Spirit spoke to my soul (under the guise of teaching my children as He sometimes does when He needs to teach me something) and reminded me that these men had just been beaten very badly.  They were undoubtably in pain and yet they rejoiced because they had suffered for the sake of remaining true to the Lord Jesus Christ.  Can I not do the same?  Yes, I am hurt; but I can also rejoice and that brings some comfort to my weepy soul.

Leave a Reply

