Where have you been all my life?

I never saw it coming.  We had been in pre-marital counseling for weeks.  The pastor had made us discuss our expectations on everything, from who would take out the garbage to how often each of us anticipated marital relations, but I never saw this coming.

Only a few short weeks after we returned from our honeymoon, my dearest husband announced, “I want you to give me a haircut.”  WHAT!!!!!!??????

Now please understand that I’ve never been exactly confident about my appearance and my hair in particular has always given me fits, so his request seemed akin to handing me a scalpel and asking me to perform open heart surgery.

“I’ve never paid for a haircut in my entire life and I’m not going to start now,” he explained.  I tried.  I reasoned.  I explained that I had gone to college to be a teacher, not to beauty school …I had no skills in this area.  “Just do it,” he said, “Who’s going to laugh at me, the pigs?  A bad haircut will always grow out by next week.”

In the afterglow of our honeymoon, I knew I must obey my husband.  I proceeded to give him the worst haircut known to mankind.  I had no idea what I was doing.  I cried afterwards and he comforted me and somehow found enough hairgel to disguise what an awful wife he had for church on Sunday.  It wasn’t the last time.  His haircuts became progressively less awful through our first year of marriage, but it wasn’t soon enough for me.  I begged my friend Laura (who was my beautician) to help.  She gave me a couple of elementary guidelines to follow and he’s been pretty decent looking ever since. ;o)

15 years of marriage later (in September) I still give John haircuts.  John cuts the hair of our two teenaged sons, because I’m still afraid of the hairclippers (just like I’m afraid of the sewing machine); but they are starting to assert their desires about how they look.  No longer are they content to have mom pick out what she wants them to wear and let dad buzz their hair, and worst of all there is the desire for stylish haircuts!!

All this to say that Nancy at Homeschooling is Life is hosting a contest to give away a copy of her ebook “Haircuts for Little Men”. (Thanks, Patricia for the tip!). Go check it out!! I hope I win one, because my attempts of late at a “cool” boys haircut have been, well…, bringing up some “bad” memories! ;o)

6 thoughts on “Where have you been all my life?

  1. Dear Michelle,
    That is the best story! What a writer you are! You really made my day today 🙂
    I will probably wrap up the contest on the 23rd. Thank you again for your wonderfully written story, it was so much fun to read! I will keep ya’ posted on the winner of the e-book~

    Blessings!
    Nancy

  2. Patricia & Margie, I don’t know why your comments got filed under a different post, but I’m always glad to have you visit. Margie, I don’t know whether to laugh or feel badly for your poor mom…yikes!

    John and I will be celebrating our 15th Anniversary on September 5th.

  3. Hi Michelle 🙂
    You won a copy of my haircutting ebook! Stop on by my blog and see. And just email me your email addy so I can get that link to you.
    Blessings!
    Nancy

  4. That was such a good post! I cut all my kids hair. My husband doesn’t ever have enough hair for me to cut. Even if he did, I’m not so sure he’d let me!

Leave a Reply

