Raindrops on Roses…

dsc01913.jpg…and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with string, these are a few of my favorite things…

For some reason I was in a mood to capture a few of my favorite things with my camera yesterday and I wanted to share them with you.dsc01913.jpg

This is a picture of my mom reading to Anna.  The title of the book is “Anna Growing Up on the Farm”.  Very appropriate, don’t you think?  My mom is one of my favorite people.  She came over Saturday morning just to help out and be supportive while I was getting ready for Anna’s birthday party.  I’ve always said she is the second most beautiful woman in the world, right next to Jaclyn Smith.

 dsc01916.jpg

Well, not exactly roses, they’re daylilies, but the red is so intense and lush and the raindrops look so refreshing and cool that I had to share.

dsc01915.jpg

Sally and Bekah are this summer’s crop of kittens.  Actually there are three more under Mavis’ house, but we haven’t fully tamed them yet.  These kittens are walking tummies with fur and they follow us everywhere.  Sally (they solid gray one) tried desperately to get into the house during Anna’s party on Saturday.  I “yelled” at her “You’re not coming into this house!”  My father (who had just arrived) thought I was talking to him.  I love summer kittens because the girls just adore them.  They can play outside for hours with them and that makes me very happy.

dsc01918.jpg

This picture represents a couple of different favorite things.  There are the cupcake tree (center) and three-tiered plate stand (far right) because they’re so much fun to entertain with.  I got the cupcake tree from my grandmother (another of my favorite people) for my birthday.  I had been eyeing one for awhile, but never wanted to spend the money.  Spot on grandma!

The other favorite thing represented in this picture is my new favorite cupcake recipe, because it is soooo easy and soooo good.  Are you paying attention, Dawn?

Start with a Devil’s Food cake mix.  I’m partial to Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe, but use your favorite.  Add a small box of instant chocolate pudding and mix according to box directions.  Fold in one cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and scoop into cupcake paper-lined pan.  Bake.  For frosting, bring 3/4 c. whipping cream to boil and take off heat.  Stir in a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and keep stirring until they’re melted and the ganache is shiny.  Now here’s the beauty part…to frost, dip the cupcake tops in the the ganache.  It’s easy-peasy and tastes out of this world!

dsc01995.jpg

I know, you’re asking “What is it?”  This is a purse made by my great-grandmother and it is one of my favorite things.  When I was a little girl, I remember my great-grandmother crocheting Roman Meal bread bags to keep her hands nimble because she had arthritis.  She always had a basket of Roman Meal bread bags (there were a few Wonder bread bags thrown in, but mostly Roman Meal) and a project she was working on with them.  My mom has this purse today and whenever I see it, I am transported back in time.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my meandering journey with me.  I’d love to hear what some of your favorite things are!

5 thoughts on “Raindrops on Roses…

  1. What wonderful favorites! That cupcake recipe sounds deeeeeeeeeelicious! Wish I’d had it Saturday before baking my husband’s birthday cake. Next year! And kittens – I absolutely adore kittens!

  2. Happy (belated) birthday Louis!! I don’t see why you couldn’t make the cupcakes to celebrate it being Tuesday or something. They’re too easy to wait for a special occasion. Perfect for a Pollywog Picnic! Now as to your favorite things…hmmm…I bet I can guess who two of them are! :o)

  3. Thanks, Michelle, for sharing your favorite things.

    I love kittens, but my allergies to cats have gotten so severe that I cannot enjoy them except in pictures like yours.

    My current favorite thing is watermelon. Growing up, cantelope was the melon of choice. I developed my love of watermelon later in life. There is just nothing finer on a hot summer day than a huge, dripping slice of cold, sweet watermelon 🙂

  4. Mmmmmm, Margie, I feel cooler already! Thank you for sharing your favorite thing. BTW, I am also allergic to cats (and just about everything else under the sun). I am the only one of my siblings who does not have indoor pets for just that reason. I just have a logic-defying attraction to summer kittens. Part of it is because my daughters delight in them to the extreme. But another part of it is because these are wild kittens that we had to tame. They had to overcome their fear of us and trust us and now they snuggle down in our arms and purr like outboard motors. :o)

Leave a Reply

