Treasure These Things

“But his mother treasured all these things in her heart.” (Lk. 2:51)

When we gather as a family at the dinner table as soon as John or I say, “Let’s pray”, our 19 month old Emma tightly folds her little hands.  She’s the first of my four children to do this.  (The rest had to be taught not to eat during prayers.)  When I announce in the morning that it’s time for devotions, she comes to the living room, climbs on whatever chair is handy and again, folds her little hands tightly with a look of joy and expectation on her face.

This gives me pause.  Is Emma responding to the praise and positive affirmation she receives from her readiness to pray?  Or is it possible that the Lord is raising up for Himself a young prayer warrior in my youngest child?  I don’t know.  Only time will tell, but I treasure these things in my heart.

One thought on “Treasure These Things

  1. We can learn so much from getting our eyes off our own circumstances and being attentive to those around us, can’t we? (I’m preaching to myself, here! =)) Beautiful insight, Michelle.

Leave a Reply

