Rest, Continued

There is a new thing happening in my heart/mind/life as I explore and learn to value rest…it is a new appreciation for silence.

I am not a fan of silence.  I’ve never been comfortable with it.  If I am in the car, the radio is on.  If I am alone, either the stereo or possibly the TV (if I’m folding laundry) is on while I am busy about my chores. One would think that with 4 active children, I would yearn for silence, but amazingly this has not been so.

Last night after all the children were in bed, John and I sat in silence.  He was catching up on his reading and I was folding clothes.  Neither of us felt like we had to talk, nor did we feel like we didn’t want to talk.  It was just peaceful, restful silence.

Leave a Reply

