We Will Praise Him When We Win, Praise Him When We Lose…

You might think from this title, that this is a post about the Super Bowl.  That would be appropriate, but that’s not what’s on my heart this morning. 

This theme played a major role in the movie Facing the Giants which we watched this weekend.  It made for a great discussion starter for devotions yesterday when we stayed home from church due to the extreme cold.  Little did I know how quickly it would come home to test me.

Last night, our son Gabe had a small meltdown.  It was nothing unusual or unexpected.  We often find he falls to pieces when he stays up past 9:00.  My husband and I talked him down and got him to bed.  It was certainly nothing to shake our confidence as parents.  After it was over, as John and I were getting ready for bed, the Lord released concerns for my son’s future welfare that we had never given voice to before; concerns that had been lying dormant in the back of my heart since Gabe’s last dr. appointment.  Out of consideration for my son’s privacy I don’t want to go into too much detail, but suffice it to say it was enough to scare us both.

But I am here to testify that God is so faithful and He is so good.  As soon as this giant was placed before us, we went to Him in prayer and He reminded us of Jeremiah 29:11.  It is a verse one of our pastors often gives to the youth of our church.  “‘…For I know the plans I have for you’, declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future….'”

We don’t know what the future holds for any of us, but the good news is we have a God who does, who has a plan for that future and what is more wants the best for us.  We cry out to Him for wisdom to keep us faithful as parents so we may be in accordance with His plans for a hope and a future.

2 thoughts on “We Will Praise Him When We Win, Praise Him When We Lose…

  1. I don’t know the details of your son’s medical “stuff” but suffice it to know that you are not alone…I have 3 boys with Tourette Syndrome plus associated ADHD and OCD and life is not always easy (they are ok with me sharing…and yes it is genetic so yes, I do too). But know also that with a lot of prayers and a lot of support, all three are have their strengths too that they are leaning on to be doing very well!! God helps us through….

  2. Rindy, Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement. Gabe has BP and Anna has PDD, which is on the autistic spectrum. I appreciate you speaking up so much because it often feels like we ARE the only ones going through this. There are many Christian parenting resources, but none seem to fit our family. We lean heavily on the Word and prayer in the parenting department.

    Gabe is actually doing pretty well. He has friends at homeschool coop and seems to be fitting in, which is a blessing. This is my first year homeschooling Anna.

    Yes, God helps us through. If there is one thing I have learned through this experience it is that there is no good thing in me and how badly I need the Holy Spirit to lead me moment by moment.

Leave a Reply

