So Precious

I put my baby to bed last night.  As usual, she was none too happy about being “left out” of any quiet time John and I might enjoy before going to bed ourselves and was voicing her displeasure with me in a loud, but tired, cry.  I started to give her the same “good-night blessing” that I have given all my babies since my soon-to-be 13 y.o. was first put in his crib…”Mommy loves you (kiss), Daddy loves you (kiss) and Jesus loves you (kiss, kiss) Good-night.” She cried through the whole thing.

For some reason, I felt the Holy Spirit lead me to pray with her last night–for real–after the blessing and so I did.  As I prayed, she ceased her crying, and in the split second after I said “amen” I looked up to see her open her eyes, unfold her hands and resume her crying.

It took my breath away.  Like David, my heart asked, “Who am I, O Sovereign Lord, and what is my family that you have brought me this far?”  (2 Sam. 7:18)  Budding faith in the heart of an infant…so precious.

Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.  I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”  (Luke 18:16-17)

3 thoughts on “So Precious

  1. Ok, I LOVE this post.

    Number one, that is EXACTLY the same thing we do with our Little Kiddles when it comes to bed time. (Right down to the number of kisses) 🙂

    Secondly, I can see her doing it. I”m sure you don’t put her to bed with pigtails, but I can see those tear-filled eyes and those adorable pigtails, head bowed…..I just want to squeeze the Little Pudding!!

    Lastly, THAT is a gift from Father that deserves to be recorded (!) as well as a point of worship.

    I bet your rest that night was better for having been on holy ground. ((h))

  2. It was pretty cool, but what makes it even better is that this hasn’t been a one-time event. The last time I prayed with her I was holding her in a mock-nursing position rocking back and forth and she struggled to get her arm free from around my back so she could fold her hands. Yeah. It captures my heart every time.

    Oh and the pigtails? Well, lil’ miss squirmy bottom only allows me enough time to pull the hair out of her eyes and put it in a pony. I’ll have to send you a more recent pix.

Leave a Reply

