Hiding It In Our Hearts

As this more relaxed week between Christmas and New Year’s draws to a close, I am taking advantage of the opportunity to visit some of my favorite blogs. When I visited Choosing Home this morning, I found this excellent post on memorization of Scripture. I’m so glad I found it. I need that reminder…a kick in the pants to get back on track as we begin homeschooling again in January.

In her post, Karen gives several good memorization techniques, but I would like to add one more. This is something I picked up at a homeschool convention one year and it has worked well for our family. The person leading the memorization reads the verse aloud three times, then you (as a group) say the verse aloud two to three times. Finally, each person says the verse aloud by him/herself. By the time we finish, we’ve said the verse 9 or 10 times and are well on our way to having it memorized. Assigning it for copywork helps cement it in too.

On aspect of memorization that also needs attention is maintenance. I have found that we can memorize almost anything, but if we don’t go back and review what we have already learned, we lose it.

I look forward to hearing your success stories about Scripture memorization. What will you be working on in the New Year?

Leave a Reply

