A Tribute to My In-Laws

Tomorrow is the big day!  Letters have been coming in from all over the country for the past month to surprise them with a time of remembrance and honor tomorrow after the noon meal.  I just finished my letter this morning.

Mavis and Edmund–

My problem is not coming up with enough for a letter, my problem is knowing how to stop.

After 14+ years, I still cannot believe my good fortune to have married into this family.  Your family is quite extraordinary.  Proverbs 17:6 says “Children’s children are a crown to the aged, and parents are the pride of their children.”  Truer words could not be spoken.  Your love, faith, gentleness, and hard work are evidenced by your children, grandchildren, and now great-grandchildren around you today.

Edmund, I have always admired your gentle ways.  You (and by extension, John) have created such a safe, secure environment to raise a family and are an excellent example of Godly manhood for my sons.  You captured my heart the day you called me “honeygirl” from your hospital bed and included me among your children right before bypass surgery.  You (and by extension, John) grill the BEST pork chops on the face of the earth.  You’ve spoiled me for any other!

Mavis, you are my Naomi.  I love you so much.  Like a true Titus 2 woman you have taught me much about being a wife in general and the wife of a farmer in particular.  Trying to list the ways you’ve helped me would be like trying to count the stars in the sky.  All the floors washed, dishes done, patches sewn, and children watched so I “could get something done.”  I don’t think I could’ve made it through those early years without you.

Many are the jewels in your crowns.  May the Lord say of you both, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”

Much love,

Michelle

4 thoughts on “A Tribute to My In-Laws

  1. Patricia–
    Really I’m not…they have both been so patient and gentle with me. Any small outpouring of love on my part is a natural reaction to them. It was a wonderful day. It took us HOURS to read all the letters that came in to honor and reminisce with them.

Leave a Reply

