Thanksgiving, Part 4

1 Co. 15:56-57 “The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.  But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”  In our efforts to be thankful, we should never forget to be thankful that God gives us victory over the condemnation of sin and victory over death through the resurrection of Jesus Christ!  Today in history, we were reading Michelle Miller’s commentary on the Enlightenment and Deism.  It paved the way to talk about what it would be like if God were righteous and ruler, but not relational.  Nathan quipped, “but Mom, then He wouldn’t have sent Jesus to die for our sins.”  Exactly!

 

2 Co. 2:14 “But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him.”  I love the way my Bible’s commentary phrased the note this morning…this is a testimony to “the unfailing adequacy of the grace of God for every conceivable situation.”  I think the longer I am a Christian, the more inconceivable it is to me that God spreads his fragrance through me.  Too often, I’m afraid, my own stench masks His sweet fragrance.

Oh, Lord, please cleanse me by the blood of Jesus and fill me with your sweet Holy Spirit, so that your fragrance is what comes through when people see me.

The other thing that is striking to me is that the imagery Paul uses is that of a conquering Roman general coming home from war, leading a parade of his soldiers and captured prisoners.  Christ is not merely a conquering soldier–He is the conquering King!! The work has been done!  The battle is over and won! (And He’s letting us march behind Him in the parade :o)  He’s not just righteous and relational–He’s RULER.  Oh the depth of security because God Is who He Is.  I am so thankful.

Leave a Reply

