I Think I Must Be Coming Down With Something…

It’s Fall Fever!  The days are a little cooler.  As much as I’d like to bundle up and do my quiet time on the porch, it’s just too dark to read!  I actually covered up with a comfy blanket over my toes for this morning’s time with God.  I’m feeling the need to make soup and bread, maybe even some bagels for breakfast.

Anna and I are studying leaves for science.  Therefore, we are making acorn, apple, and leaf shaped cutout cookies.  In all fairness the following recipe came to me via The Baker’s Catalogue ( http://www.bakerscatalogue.com), but they were labeled as Halloween Cutouts and I can’t figure wasting these perfectly good cookies on cats, bats, pumkins, and such when they make such adorable acorns, apples and leaves!

Autumn Oatmeal Cutout Cookies

1 c. butter¾ c. brown sugar1 egg¾ tsp. salt½ tsp. baking powder2 tsp. vanilla extract1 tsp. cinnamon½ tsp. ground ginger2 c. flour½ c. whole wheat flour1 c. old fashioned oatscinnamon sugar Cream butter & sugar.  Add egg, salt, baking powder, vanilla, cinnamon, and ginger.  Add in flours and oats.  Mixture may look dry at first but it will come together.  Wrap dough and refrigerate for 30 min.  When ready to cut out, take dough out of frige and let it come to room temp (so much easier than trying to roll out cold dough).  Divide into 2-3 larger pieces and roll out each piece to desired thickness.  Cut out with favorite shapes.  (These cookies don’t spread so you can place them fairly close together on pan.)  Sprinkle cutouts with cinnamon sugar and bake at 350 for approx 10-12 min or until they are as soft or as crispy as your family likes them.  (Mine would be happy if I just left them in the oven with the light on to warm the dough a little.  Yours might actually want them baked.)There’s a raisin-oatmeal-cookie-candle that I picked up at Wal-Mart a couple of years ago burning in the kitchen (along with the rest of the oatmeal cutouts Nathan is baking up) along with  a barn-special candle from Barn Candle Co. that I bought from a friend at our homeschool coop last year.  The last one has a cinnamon-candy kind of smell.  It’s all very autumnal and yummy.  I think, with all deference to my Java-lovin’ friends, the moment calls for hot tea, most likely Constant Comment decaf, but The Republic of Tea’s Ginger Peach Decaf would be a close runner up and imminently satisfying as well.

Leave a Reply

